Fun Family & Good Friends – that's what life should be about

Directionless

“You have brains in your head. You have feet in your shoes. You can steer yourself in any direction you choose. You’re on your own, and you know what you know. And you are the guy who’ll decide where to go.” Dr Seuss

Years ago, I changed the direction of my life.  I abandoned years of experience and knowledge in one career to start fresh in another, starting a university degree in a field I had no experience in.  I found passion, connection, and meaning in my new career direction.

Everything else in my life has changed since then and I have tried to hold onto that change, fit it in with all the other changes.  My desire and interest in my new career remains, yet the practicalities of devoting years of my life to achieving it are encroaching, decisions have been taken out of my hands.  Other areas of my life need attention.  I’ve toyed before with the idea of pushing the pause button on my dream.  I was willing to put it on hold to work on my failing relationship, I ended up putting it on hold when the relationship failed anyway and I needed to put my life back together again.  And now, I find myself seriously considering giving it up, if not permanently, at least for a good long while.

But if I don’t finish my degree, then what do I do?  I’m not the sort of person who can do nothing.  My options are both frustratingly limited and limitless.  I can do anything I put my mind too.  The problem is I don’t know what direction I want to steer in, where I want to put my energy.  Do I solidify my years of experience in my first career and invest the time and money in the piece of paper to go further?  Do I keep putting everything else on hold to do a university degree in my dream career with an uncertain finish date and uncertain job prospects?  Do I do something completely different?

I can’t decide where to go and time is running out.

One response

  1. Pingback: Bouquet of Flowers « Remember The Art Of Living

Leave a Reply

