Fun Family & Good Friends – that's what life should be about

Living In The Blank White Spaces At The Edge Of Print

My sewing machine has finally arrived and since I can’t actually open it just yet, I’m reduced to stocking up on sewing patterns and supplies.

Wednesday and Thursday were particularly sucky days this week, for different reasons, so by Friday I was ready for some retail therapy.  Since I’m on a tight budget these days, I headed to Lifeline.

There is nothing like rummaging to make me feel better, and I spent a quite enjoyable hour sorting through two bulk bags of sewing patterns to come away with a shopping bag full for $5.  Aside from the more practical patterns such as kids tracksuits, swimming costumes, and work clothes, I loved all the vintage retro style patterns, and they have now found a new home with me, along with some kids costumes (future Book Weeks lol), a Vera Wang designer, and doll clothes patterns.

There was one that I bought simply because of the political incorrectness of it, in this age of everything being so politically correct; I find it subversively funny.  It is a beautiful child’s jacket pattern showing a boy with a hoop positioned above a little girl holding out flowers to him.  He is looking down at her with such a classic patronising  look, she is looking up at him with such a hopeful to please expression.  Completing the historical snapshot is a little note underneath the description stating (Not Suitable For Chubby Children).  The whole thing reminds me of ‘The Handmaid’s Tale’…

“We were the people who were not in the papers. We lived in the blank white spaces at the edge of print. It gave us more freedom.”

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

