Fun Family & Good Friends – that's what life should be about

The Times Are A Changing

Vigilant readers will have noticed that some posts from this blog have disappeared.  The reason for this is simple.  I haven’t deleted them, but I have removed them.  I’m keeping them for me because they are a part of me, a part of my history.  But they are not who I am at the moment and it’s not how I want to be represented.

Things are changing, things have changed.  I have some big challenges in front of me and some big decisions to make.  I’ve made some already and the difference has been amazing.  I feel lighter, more free, stronger, which is funny because I was scared to make these decisions in case what I chose made me weaker.

I’ve always said about myself that I am a work in progress.  That’s one of the reasons I chose the name of my blog, because for me living is an art and I am my own masterpiece.  I forgot how to live for the longest time.  My days were existence, survival, one foot in front of the other.  I think maybe I needed to be that way at the time, to cope, to deal.  But the last year has been about remembering that there is more to life than that.

I’m reminded of Maslow’s hierachy of needs.

While the order and content of the hierachy are much debated in the psychological field, I like the idea that self-actualisation is at the top of the food chain.  Morality.  Creativity.  Spontaneity.  Problem solving.  Lack of prejudice.  Acceptance of facts.  This sits well with my beliefs about what is important in life and it describes where I’m at and where I’m headed.  I’ve been frustrated for the last year because I had to go back to the beginning.  I could see my goals but I couldn’t reach them.  Still not there yet, but ever closer.

I don’t think it matters that I am a work in progress, as long as the painting is getting done and not being pushed to the back of the cupboard.

To borrow from Bob…

“The line it is drawn
And the curse it is cast
The slow one now
Will later be fast
As the present now
Will later be past
The order is
Rapidly fadin’
And the first one now
Will later be last
For the times they are a-changin’ “

Leave a Reply

