Fun Family & Good Friends – that's what life should be about

Happy Birthday To Me

It was my birthday on the weekend and I took myself away from the grey overcast weather of home to the warm sunny beach.

I love this spot.  The world just opens up before you like a glass dome and there is something mesmerising about watching the waves just roll into shore.

I’ve spent a lot of time here over the years.  I used to visit every morning to walk over the mountain.  I would pause to stretch on the plateau before entering the national park and follow the twisting path around and up the hill.  There is another spot, at the top, where I would stretch again, the view looking the other direction, more beach and ocean, so isolated for such a busy place.

I was married here, so many years ago.  The wedding photos are stunning, but tucked away in an album because who wants to look at a life that doesn’t exist anymore?  I looked fantastic though, so they may just come again one day :p

My birthday this year was a day of favourites.  I walked around my favourite shopping centre and bought myself some treats. I didn’t buy my Boba Fett bobble head on my birthday, but he is considered a birthday treat nonetheless.  I was ridiculously excited when I saw him in the shop window and had to have him.  Isn’t he cute?  I also picked up a Darth Vader plush bag tag.  He talks when you press his belly (Luke, I am your father) and of course the breathing.

You can also see in the Boba pic the classy leopard print case of my new phone lol.  Yep, I’m that cool.

 

I dragged everyone out for dinner at my favourite restaurant.  It has wooden elephant chairs.  Can you see why I like it?

I ate too much and still had fried ice cream for dessert.  Of course.

It was lovely to catch up with family and friends, get some sun, splash around at the beach, and bring some sand home between my toes.

And yes, to everyone who asked, I feel old.  But I’m working damn hard on staying young at heart 😀

Many thanks to all of my wonderful friends and family who wished me well and gave me hugs.  You are all loved in return ❤

3 responses

  1. Sounds like a wonderful day! I am spending today getting ready for my birthday tomorrow. I’m cleaning my house and I dyed my hair and um, taking measurements of my body because I decided to sign up for the Armidale best body challenge. hehe!

    August 12, 2011 at 2:33 pm

  2. Jeremy

    There must be ‘self’ days. Even if your birthday is just an excuse for one, there must be days solely for yourself. Your soul (or whatever you feel the equivalent is) is nourished by such things. There are also a number of things for each person that make them content in the moment. Adults playing with Lego, finishing that knitting from ages ago, buying that trinket, getting the new tech to work with the old tech, things that your inner self is healed by and the scars are smoothed just a little from. The tragedy is that not everybody knows what theirs is. If you are aware of yours, celebrate it. If it happens to be on the anniversary of your entrance to this turn of the wheel, so much the better. Take heart in the little things, for I fear that if we stop noticing them, we may all be lost.

    August 13, 2011 at 11:18 pm

    • theinkdarkmoon

      You are such an old soul Jeremy. It is true that I have not paid much attention to my ‘self’, I tend to sacrifice my wants and needs to make others happy. This of course never works, because if I’m not happy, then the ones I love are going to be affected by this. The last year has taught me much about nourishing the soul and recognising the little things that soothe. Sometimes the little things are all we have, and the hope lies in there being so many little things, they form completeness.

      August 17, 2011 at 12:11 am

Leave a Reply

