Fun Family & Good Friends – that's what life should be about

I Made This! Mostly…

Since I have temporarily semi-retired from work (at least full time) I’ve been working on being a stay at home mum.  For the most part (the exception being when my Bug is being feral) I’m loving it.

Sewing was a huge part of my childhood.  My mum made a lot of things when I was little; clothes, formal wear, quilts, etc.  I was mostly a complete brat and refused to wear homemade clothes and hated fabric shopping.

Now that I am a stay at home mum, I find myself returning to this creature comfort and am re-learning how to sew.  A few of my friends sew and that has been a big encouragement to get started.  My brand new sewing machine is going on layby tomorrow and I had my first sewing lesson this afternoon from a friend.

Remember the beautiful material from a couple of posts ago?  Well, today we made that into this…

Big thanks to my teacher for her time and for the loan of her sewing machine, material, pattern, and daughter.  I turned up at her place after lunch thinking I have no idea how she is going to teach me how to sew and she goes, lets make this!  Four hours later and voila!  A beautiful tunic dress on a beautiful bub (and a beautiful smile lol).

4 responses

  1. a) How lovely! I would love to learn to sew. You’ve done a wonderful job! I’m teaching myself to knit, phew. :/
    b) Love the new layout!

    April 13, 2011 at 9:29 pm

    • nerdygothgirl

      I loved it, so much fun! And it felt awesome to make something 🙂

      I’m working on a knitted beanie for the Bug, my first go on circular needles. You just go round and round and round and round lol. Pics to follow…

      Thanks for the feedback on the new layout, I wanted it to be a little bit more cleanly laid out and personal.

      April 14, 2011 at 12:31 am

  2. JO

    what a beautiful dress! And well done to who ever made the model she is gorgeous!!! lol!!

    April 13, 2011 at 11:45 pm

    • nerdygothgirl

      Indeed, I can’t claim credit for the model, kudos to those that made the little cutie 😉

      Can’t claim full credit for the dress either, I just followed instructions under excellent supervision 😀

      April 14, 2011 at 12:28 am

Leave a Reply

